Baby Shower Cupcakes

Baby Shower Cupcakes.

There are a lot of different things that you can bake for a baby shower. I personally love cupcakes and there are heaps of ideas and inspiration to be found on the internet – so get going 🙂

I made these cupcakes for a friends baby shower – her theme was blue as she was getting a baby boy. 🙂 I made basic vanilla cupcakes with blue food dye and my delicious creme cheese frosting. Unfortunately, the cupcakes turned out to be green once I baked them – so at least they matched the cupcake forms! I decorated them with these cute blue baby sugar decorations.

See frosting recipe for my Red Velvet cupcakes below.

baby2

baby

baby1

baby3

A few months later I was asked again to make cupcakes for another friend where her party theme was yellow and green. Yaay.. I thought I would step it up from the usual frosting and try out fondant. I had never worked with it before so I started off with the basics.  I bought white fondant, yellow and green gel paste coloring, small brush, cookie and a baby shower set of cutters – and I was set.

It did not take long to make the fondant toppers and I just let them dry overnight before placing them on the cupcakes.

I made Red Velvet cupcakes with creme cheese frosting. See recipe below.

b

baby

ba

bab

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Makes 24 cupcakes

Batter:
1 tsps salt
1 tbsps cocoa powder
500 ml / 2 cups plain flour
300 ml / 1,5 cups sugar
300 ml / 1,5 cup oil
250 ml / 1 cup buttermilk
2 large eggs
2½ tbsps red food colour
1 tsps vanilla paste/vanilla powder
1½ tsps baking powder
1 tsps vinegar

Preheat the oven on 175˚C and make the cupcake forms ready.

  1. Mix sugar and oil together until combined. Add one egg at the time and mix well after each addition until mixture is well combined and fluffy.
  2. Mix buttermilk and red food colour.
  3. Mix flour, salt, cocoa powder and vanilla.
  4. Mix carefully step 2 and 3 into step 1 but in 3 batches alternating flour mixture with buttermilk. Starting and ending with flour mixture, mixing well after each addition.
  5. Mix baking soda and vinegar and add to batter, and mix well for 10 seconds.
  6. Pour batter to prepared cupcakes forms.

Bake on 175˚C for about 20-25 minutes depending on your oven.

Cool cupcakes completely before adding the frosting.

Frosting:
250 g cream cheese (Original Philadelphia Cream Cheese)
125 g soft unsalted butter
3 cups icing sugar
1 tsps vanilla paste

Beat the butter first with a hand mixer until light and add creme cheese and mix until completely smooth. Then add vanilla paste/powder and slowly add icing sugar until you have reached the desired consistency.

Enjoy and feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

Love,
B

Leave a Reply

